Underinsurance Problem


If the sums indicated in the insurance contract are lower than the actual replacement costs, this is called underinsurance. In a claims event underinsurance can on the one hand lead to lengthy negotiations for the insurer and on the other hand have existence-threatening consequences for the policyholder.

An example  
Sum insured: 10.000.000,00
Replacement value:  15.000.000,00
Shortfall: 5.000.000,00
Shortfall in % 33,33

Damage Insurance proceeds Policyholder’s direct loss
150.000   100.000    50.000       
1.500.000   1.000.000    500.000       
15.000.000   10.000.000    5.000.000       


Our experience: Underinsurance as a general rule
From more than 20 years of experience in the area of valuation and claims management an alarming picture can be deduced:

Dependent on the branch 70 to 90 percent of the companies are underinsured, whereby the extent of underinsurance is between 20 and 80 percent (!).

The causes are complex and diverse
  • Acquisition values do not correspond to the replacement values (especially for used machines)
  • Assets are not capitalised for the accounting department and are also not considered in the insurance sums.
  • Wrong boundaries between buildings and technical equipment. Here there is a big difference between the reports from accounting (mostly assets) and the actuarially relevant values. This can give rise to underinsurance’s in subareas (buildings or technical equipment).
    Different rules apply for tenants and owners: Third party property (e.g.: rented or leased devices) often does not exonerate from the insurance obligation. Examples include EDP-systems, small equipment, machines and large plants, where the policyholders can be hit twice. First they must financially reimburse the owners, and secondly the facility/equipment in question is no longer available to their company.

The solution: Valuation by Risk Consult
At the basis of each insurance concept is the authenticity of the sums that “are at stake”. The RC valuation provides you with a summary of your replacement values and therefore forms the ideal basis for a good and long-term client relationship with policyholders.

Reliable & all from a single source / and all under one roof
We not only carry out building validations, but also the determination of equipment values, so no interface problems occur.

Waiver of underinsurance on the basis of the RC valuation
Normally the insurer waives the defence of underinsurance if the insurance value occurred on the basis of the estimate of an acknowledged valuation expert, the new installations were included and corresponding index adjustments were carried out.”
Dr. Wolfgang Petschko,
Leiter Firmengeschäft der Vienna Insurance Group (in: ASSCompact, 07/2008, S.39)


Print page add to memory list

Problem Unterversicherung

Sind die im Versicherungsvertrag angegebenen Summen geringer als die tatsächlichen Wiederbeschaffungswerte, so spricht man von Unterversicherung. Im Schadenfall kann Unterversicherung für Versicherer zu langwierigen Diskussionen und Verfahren führen, andererseits für Versicherungsnehmer existenzgefährdende Folgen haben.

Ein Beispiel  
Versicherungssumme: 10.000.000,00
Wiederbeschaffungswert:  15.000.000,00
Unterdeckung: 5.000.000,00
Unterdeckung in % 33,33

Schaden Versicherungs-
leistung
direkter Verlust beim Versicherungsnehmer
150.000   100.000    50.000       
1.500.000   1.000.000    500.000       
15.000.000   10.000.000    5.000.000       


Unsere Erfahrung: Unterversicherung als Regelfall
Aus mehr als 20 Jahren Erfahrung im Bereich Wertermittlung und Schadenmanagement lässt sich ein alarmierendes Bild ableiten:
Abhängig von der Branche sind 70 bis 90 Prozent der Unternehmen unterversichert, wobei der Grad der Unterversicherung zwischen 20 und 80 Prozent (!) liegt.

Die Ursachen sind komplex und vielfältig
  • Anschaffungswerte entsprechen nicht den Neuwerten (vor allem bei gebrauchten Maschinen)
  • Eigenleistungen werden buchhalterisch nicht aktiviert und auch in den Versicherungssummen nicht berücksichtigt.
  • Falsche Abgrenzung zwischen Gebäuden und technischen Einrichtungen. Hier besteht ein massiver Unterschied zwischen den Angaben aus der Buchhaltung (meist Anlagevermögen) und den versicherungstechnisch relevanten Größen. Daraus können Unterversicherungen in Teilbereichen (Gebäude bzw. technische Einrichtungen) entstehen.
    Für Mieter und Besitzer gelten hier unterschiedliche Regelungen: Fremdeigentum (z.B.: gemietete oder geleaste Geräte) entbindet häufig nicht von der Versicherungspflicht. Beispiele hierfür sind etwa EDV-Systeme, Kleingeräte, Maschinen und Großanlagen. Hier kann den Versicherungsnehmern somit ein doppelter Schaden entstehen. Einerseits müssen Sie die Eigentümer finanziell schadlos halten, und andererseits steht die entsprechende Anlage Ihrem Unternehmen nicht mehr zur Verfügung.
Die Lösung: Wertermittlung durch Risk Consult
Grundlage für jedes Versicherungskonzept ist die „Echtheit“ der Summen, die „auf dem Spiel stehen“. Die RC Wertermittlung liefert Ihnen rasch, eine Aufstellung Ihrer Wiederbeschaffungswerte und bildet damit die ideale Basis für gute und langfristige Kundenbeziehungen mit Versicherungsnehmern.

Zuverlässig & alles aus einer Hand
Da wir sowohl Gebäudeschätzungen als auch die Ermittlung von Einrichtungswerten vornehmen können, treten keine Schnittstellenprobleme auf.

Unterversicherungsverzicht auf Basis der RC Wertermittlung
„Üblicherweise verzichtet der Versicherer auf den Einwand der Unterversicherung, wenn der Versicherungswert auf Basis der Schätzung eines anerkannten Wertermittlers erfolgte, Neuanlagen mit eingeschlossen wurden und entsprechende Indexanpassungen durchgeführt wurden.“
Dr. Wolfgang Petschko,
Leiter Firmengeschäft der Vienna Insurance Group (in: ASSCompact, 07/2008, S.39)


Seite Drucken zur Merkliste hinzufügen
PRESSE & NEWS


Trügerisches Sicherheitsgefühl

mehr Infos